Service Awards

The Service of the Year Awards will recognise and showcase the valuable work done by family day care services for their educators and their communities.


Service of the Year

Service awards will recognise four national finalists. One national finalist will be selected from each of the following zones:

  • NT/QLD
  • SA/WA

These four national finalists will be invited to the Family Day Care Australia Excellence in Family Day Care Awards Gala Dinner, at which the Service of the Year will be selected.


How does the nomination and submission process work?

During the nomination period (25 June - 28 July 2019) we invite families and educators to nominate their service via a simple online nomination form. Services will be advised of their nomination via email and will be invited to make a supporting submission about how they meet the selection criteria. To nominate a service, check back here from 18 June.

Please note that all nominations and submissions must be made online via this website.


How are the winners selected?

Once the submission deadline has passed, a number of judging phases take place in the lead up to the announcement of the Excellence in Family Day Care Awards National Winners.

Star Award winners and national finalists are selected by an official FDCA selection committee. The FDCA selection committee* is made up of the following representatives, who each have extensive experience in the family day care sector:

  • Sarah Fowler – FDCA Board Director and Deputy Board Chair, Executive Director of Kentish Lifelong Learning and Care Inc
  • Phillipa Hargrave – FDCA Board Director and Service Manager of Communities@Work  Family Day Care and In Home Care
  • Michael Farrell – FDCA National Policy and Advocacy Manager
  • Andrea Darley – FDCA Service Liaison Officer

Following the selection of the national finalists by the FDCA selection committee, each finalist is reviewed by Perry Campbell, Deputy National Education Leader of the Australian Children’s Education and Care Quality Authority (ACECQA). Following this review process a national winner is selected.

*Services that are directly related to FDCA Board Directors or FDCA staff are not eligible for an award.


Key Dates

Nominations open: 25 June 2019

Nominations close: 28 July 2019

Submissions close: 11 August 2019

Educator regional winners announced: 19 September 2019

Star Award winners announced: 3 October 2019

National finalists announced: 14 October 2019

National winners announced: 23 November 2019


To view the full 2019 Excellence in Family Day Care Awards terms and conditions, click here.